in ,

Croatia reportedly adopt Euro; becoming EU’s borderless zone member nation

On Sunday, Croatia said goodbye to the Kuna and entered the EU’s borderless zone by adopting the euro.

The nation joined the largest territory in the world without requiring a passport, known as Schengen, and became the 20th nation to join the eurozone.

“This is the time of year for fresh starts. And nowhere in Europe is this more true than right here in Croatia “Ursula von der Leyen, president of the European Commission, tweeted from Croatia’s capital city of Zagreb to commemorate the nation’s admission.

Today the country joins the Schengen area and the Eurozone. Two immense achievements. I’m so glad to be here, on this day of joy and pride for Croatia,” Von der Leyen added.

Since Croatia’s 2013 EU membership, the Schengen regulations have been applied gradually.

The European Union Council resolved to end border checks with Croatia on December 8.

Written by T.I Ukende

T.I Ukende is a professional writer and ICT consultant. He has written many evergreen articles for Benuecast blog, classicgist, ellabase and many others before birthing the newsway blog.
Newsway delivers well researched and undiluted information on business, employment opportunities, personal finance and government empowerments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    IMF: A third of the world’s economies to witness recession; the worst in the last 40 years

    How Bee Network users can earn free USDT (Tether) on Bee platform